News releases and media advisories are issued using a media list managed by the MSBA Communications Director. If you would like to be added to the media list, please send your full name, organization and any other contact information via email. All inquiries from the media should be made through the MSBA Communications Director. MSBA will gladly assist the media concerning various education, and in particular school board policy-related, issues in a timely manner.


 Back to News Room
    Click Here




Issues & Resources



News Releases



CONTACT Denotris Jackson, MSBA Director of Policy / Advocacy, 601.924.2001; djackson@msbaonline.org

CLINTON, MS –The MSBA Prospective Superintendent Leadership Academy (PSLA) has successfully concluded its first year.  A total of twenty-two administrators from 17 school districts completed PSLA requirements, thereby earning their Certificate of Completion, presented during the last class meeting on April 18, 2013.  “This inaugural class is an impressive group of future leaders in our state,” stated Dr. Mike Waldrop, MSBA Executive Director.”  He added that “The next class has a high benchmark to strive for but we know they will be up to the challenge.”
Academy graduates are:

  • Dr. Robin R. Ballard, Assistant Superintendent, Lowndes County
  • C. Jermaine Brown, Director of Student Services, Biloxi
  • Dr. Deadra Cassell, Director of Curriculum / Professional Development, West Jasper
  • Bernard Stephen Chandler, Superintendent, Tunica County
  • Debra Dace, Ph. D., Curriculum / Testing Coordinator, Tunica County
  • Valarie Davis, Ed. D., Principal, Coahoma County
  • Dexter T. Green, former Principal, Tunica County, newly appointed Superintendent, Okolona
  • Toriano Holloway, Ph. D., Assistant Superintendent, Starkville
  • Vikki Landry, Director of Federal Programs, Bay St. Louis Waveland
  • Dr. June B. Leigh, Director of Curriculum, Professional Development and Assessment, Aberdeen
  • Dr. Wendy McCullough, Adjunct Professor, East Mississippi Community College
  • Dr. Karen R. Norwood, Assistant Superintendent, Biloxi
  • Alan Oubre, Ph. D., Executive Director of Student Support, Hattiesburg
  • Eddie J. Peasant, Ed. D., Principal, Clinton
  • Dr. Dorothy Lynn Prestwich, Assistant Superintendent, Clarksdale
  • Jason N. Sargent, Ph. D., Executive Director, Office of Research, Evaluation and Assessment, Jackson
  • Craig A. Shannon, Deputy Superintendent, Columbus
  • Dr. Loretta Shird, Coordinator of Federal Programs, Okolona
  • Christine D. Spinks, Assistant Superintendent, Long Beach
  • Larry H. Watson, Director of Federal Programs / SPED, Winona
  • Christopher J. Williams, Sr., Ph. D., Principal, Jackson County; newly appointed Assistant Superintendent, Ocean Springs
  • Dr. Janice Wilson, Assistant Superintendent, Biloxi

“We could not be more pleased with the educational excellence and professional qualities exhibited by the Academy members,” stated Denotris Jackson, MSBA Director of Policy / Advocacy and PSLA Advisor.  “We are grateful for what they, along with the faculty, contributed to each class session,” she added. 

The MSBA Prospective Superintendent Leadership Academy is a professional development program designed to prepare potential candidates for the challenging position of superintendent in Mississippi’s public schools.  The Academy provides a minimum of thirty (30) hours of intensive study in the areas of the superintendent’s role; legal issues; state accountability and accreditation; ethics law; school board meetings; data-based decision making; school finance and insurance; personnel, community relations; team building; and governing by policy.

Dates for the next PSLA will be announced over the summer.

Posted in: News Releases

FOR RELEASE: February 12, 2013

CONTACT: Linda Buford-Burks, Director of Communications, 601.924.2001; lburks@msbaonline.org

CLINTON, MS -- Mississippi School boards, individual board members and superintendents will be recognized for their leadership training efforts on Wednesday, February 27 in the Mississippi School Boards Association’s 2013 Honors Program.

The program spotlights school leaders in several categories:

WHOLE BOARDS (in order of highest achievement):
Mortar Board, Gavel Circle, Diploma Circle, Red Apple Attendance, and Boards of Merit

INDIVIDUAL – Board Member (in order of highest achievement):
John L. Hartman Award, Distinguished Circle, Premiere Circle, Master Circle

INDIVIDUAL – Superintendent (in order of highest achievement):
SuperAttendant, Premiere Circle, Master Circle

“We are very pleased to spotlight board members and superintendents who engage in continuous professional development to improve their leadership and governance skills,” stated Dr. Mike Waldrop, MSBA executive director. The awards will be presented at the Awards Celebration Luncheon on Wednesday, February 27 at the Jackson Hilton Hotel during MSBA’s 41ST Annual Conference.

The Mississippi School Boards Association is a statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring quality school board performance through advocacy, leadership training, technical assistance and information dissemination.


Posted in: News Releases
Page 2 of 2First   Previous   1  [2]  Next   Last   
489 Springridge Rd., P.O.Box 203, Clinton, MS 39060
Phone: 601-924-2001   Fax:601-924-2003   Toll Free:888-367-6722